Italy earthquake / Olafur Eliasson: The Weather Project (2003)


My house is located just an hour’s drive from the cities most affected by the earthquake that is hitting Italy for more than a week.
So far 17 deaths have been counted, fifteen thousand people have lost their homes and the artistic heritage has been severely damaged.
Suddenly feel everything around us shaking and experience the real fear of losing life and everything that we own it’s something that helps us understand how nature is powerful and unpredictable, so I can only show a work that makes us realize with the same immediacy how much we are insignificant in relation to the universe.


Olafur Eliasson, The Weather Project, 2003, Tate Modern, London.

5 comments

  1. I was absolutely heartbroken when I heard the news about the quakes in Italy. I lived in Florence for a semester back in 2006 and traveled all throughout Italy to visit historical sites. Your inclusion of “The Weather Project” in conjunction with Italy’s current plight is beautiful.

    • Thank you so much, I’m glad you liked it. The deaths were tragic, but seeing historic churches, palaces and towers collapse and be destroyed forever was really heartbreaking. Thank you again for passing by, I hope you have a very nice day!

  2. bluntcrayon

    I remember seeing the installation in the Tate’s Turbine Hall when it first opened, it was incredible. My thoughts are with you, I hope you & your friends and family are all safe.

    • Thank you very much for the concern, my area was hardest hit on the historical heritage, but it is a sorrow though. The installation of Eliasson is breathtaking!
      Have a nice day!

      • bluntcrayon

        That’s terrible, but at least you’re alright. Yes, I thought it was magnificent – nice to be reminded of it again!

Leave a Reply

